Deconstruction Reflection

I really enjoyed the Deconstruction Project because I think it’s essential to understand the Hardware involved in a computer beyond the RAM and the Hard Drive.  (Both of which were removed from our computer.)  It certainly helped that I am familiar with the hardware setup of a PC considering I have experience building one.  This however, had a con to it, as I am left unexposed to the other systems. (The boxes designed for Linux seemed pretty neat.)

One of the questions I had regarding University expenditures was also answered.  Considering I have family in the U of M faculty, I’ve had exposure to computers similar to the ones we worked on.  I never knew why these computers had both a CD Drive and a DVD drive.  It turns out that the CD Drive had Burning capabilities while the DVD drive did not.  I suppose that DVD burners were not around yet in an affordable manner, because I’d hope that the university would know that such an extraneous purchase of unnecessary hardware would serve to its detriment as a research enterprise.

Another interesting aspect was seeing where the parts were made.  It turns out that our computer’s motherboard and wiring was made by Foxconn, the infamous Chinese Manufacturer known for it’s abysmal labor practices.  Many students have complained about the Apparel being made in sweatshops, but I haven’t seen very many complain about the hardware in the school’s computers.  I’d argue that it’s something we should think about.

This entry was posted in @UM, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deconstruction Reflection

  1. cyberprofgus says:

    Your comment on the dual CD and DVD is interesting to consider in light of the ever-growing bandwidth of wide-area networks. Who actually needs or wants a DVD burner these days?

  2. samargolis says:

    I’m not one to trust hard drives as infallible and think that solid media is a good thing to have as backup. (Though Memory Sticks and Flash Drives serve the purpose pretty well) The University does need to be careful in its cyber expenditures though. I remember when the University bought Iomega Zip Drives and attached them to all the workstations. I don’t recall that media format lasting very long even in technical fields.

Leave a Reply

