Meanwhile…at the gym

Yesterday I was at the gym minding my own business when two EECS majors began talking about the evolution of computer dependance. One of the guys started talking about how he hated learning cursive and how it was pointless because no one uses cursive after they learn it. The other guy said thats how he felt when he first started typing. He hated it and he didn’t take it seriously because he was never going to become dependent on it. He said he was probably the first person to take 281 without really knowing how to type. Another thing that he pointed out was that one of the most difficult thing when programing was being mindful of capital letters. He said that when he is typing a paper, he relies on word to auto correct words that should be capitalized. When you are programing, if you dont capitalize something that should be capitalized, not only does it not autocorrect for you, but it will produce an error in your program. This is just something that I never really thought about that I found interesting. Is there anything that you have become especially dependent on your computers for?

 

Screen Shot 2012-12-09 at 3.42.47 PM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meanwhile…at the gym

  1. julianami says:

    Technology has definitely brought about a lot of conveniences for everyone, but you’re right — we have become really dependent on a lot of technological advances, and now we can’t imagine living without them. I feel that our generation has actually been pretty lucky; technology — smartphones, computers, etc — didn’t become a huge part of our lives until we were in late middle school/early high school. As far as I recall, my childhood was spent reading, writing (with pen and paper), jump roping, biking, being outside… but I also have a brother who’s nine years younger than me. While my first lego set contained the basic bricks, his, the Lego Mindstorm NXT, contains remotes, sensors, and a programming kit that allows you to program it to color things, read directions, solve Rubik’s cubes, etc, from your computer. While I’m not so worried about our generation not being able to write in cursive, or something to that matter, it definitely worries me how much his generation is consumed by and entirely dependent on electronics.

  2. alexjking11 says:

    Sure, an overreliance on autocorrect and spellcheck can be a bad thing. And I know plenty of people who just can’t write a sentence – their diction, syntax, punctuation, and spelling is all wrong. Sometimes it can seem hopeless. But I’m generally of the opinion that computers have improved our writing skills, not destroyed them.

    People – especially young people – spend much more time writing today than they have in the past. With the advent of text messaging and instant messaging, conversations that would have originally taken place over the phone are written out instead. Of course, the quality of these conversations isn’t always at the level of Shakespeare, but something is better than nothing.

    And perhaps the best argument that personal computers and the Internet have made writing more abundant is the simple fact of you posting this blog entry and me writing this comment. If a class like this were held 20 years ago, this (written) conversation would never have taken place. But today, it’s as easy as anything to set up a blog for free and assign students the task of writing posts and entries. So as much as we may be dependent upon autocorrect and spellcheck, I think the tradeoff is worth it, in that we are writing more than ever nowadays.

  3. aserafim says:

    The last time I wrote in cursive was probably back in middle school. I forgot how to write in cursive except for my name. I use computers for mostly writing papers and other school related stuff, but I still prefer physical paper for somethings such as takings notes, drawing, and reading. I like how technology catches and fixes typing/spelling/grammar mistakes. I hated when I had to write timed essays in past classes, and I didn’t know how to spell a word. Then I had to use a different word than that I intended, and it would change the whole sentence. If I had a computer, then I would have not came across that problem. The point that I’m probably making is that technology is helping us, but it’s making us more dependable on it when we are without it.

Leave a Reply

